





9th EAAE PhD Workshop 22-24 June 2022, Parma (Italy)

Rationale

The objective of the EAAE PhD Workshop is to give PhD students from different Countries the opportunity to present their research in a conference setting and to get feedback from peers and senior economists.

Participants will benefit from: i) **plenary sessions** in which keynote speakers from academic present their most recent contributions and provide guidance on how to successfully carry out research in the agricultural, environmental, food and development economics domain; non-academic keynote speakers offer a view on the needed skills to work in non-academic international organisation, possible careers opportunities and the selection processes; ii) **informal parallel session** in which students present their **selected papers** and receive feedback from their discussant; iii) **research project format parallel sessions**, in which students present their thesis **research projects** or other research activities where they are involved individually or with other colleagues. It is not necessary to bring definitive results. Topics related to assumptions, methodological approches and execution methods are also welcome.

Call for paper

The workshop welcomes submissions by PhD students at any stage of their PhD, as well as researchers who completed their PhD at the time of the workshop. Proposals are welcome in the areas of agricultural, environmental, food and development economics, and should be submitted in English in the form of extended abstracts. Proposals of contributed papers for informal parallel session should not exceed 2000 words and should be submitted by January 31, 2022. Proposal for research project should not exceed 1500 words and should be submitted by March 30, 2022. Proposals will be selected by the Scientific Committee. For authors' guidelines and more information on how to submit your proposals, please visit the workshop website (www.parmaphdworkshop.unipr.it).

Organisation

The 9th EAAE PhD workshop will be co-organised by the Italian Association of Agricultural and Applied Economics, the University of Parma through the School of Advanced Study in Food and Nutrition and the scientific collaboration of the University Cattolica di Piacenza and the University of Bologna.

Venue

The workshop will take place in Parma at the Department of Economic and Managerial Science of Parma *University* (https://sea.unipr.it/en)

Registration fee







The registration fee is 100 Euros for PhD students and 150 Euros for others, and includes coffee breaks, lunch and the social dinner. To register, please visit the website www.parmaphdworkshop.unipr.it

PhD students do not need to be EAAE members. Regular participants have to be member of the EAAE at the time of registration for the workshop. If you are not yet a member, you can register at the website of the EAAE: www.eaae.org.

Grants

EAAE and University of Parma, would like to encourage the participation of young researchers from Eastern European countries through 10 scholarships of 500 Euros each that will be awarded to students from Eastern Europe (or Africa) on the basis of the score received on their submitted paper / project.

Important dates:

Contributed papers submission:

Notification of acceptance to authors:

Submission of full paper and registration:

Research project presentation submission:

Notification of acceptance to authors:

April 30, 2022

March 30, 2022

April 15, 2022

Registration:

April 30, 2022

Keynote speakers

- Chema Gil (CREDA)
- Liesbeth Dries (WUR)
- Maximo Torero Cullen (FAO)
- Sara Savastano (IFAD)

Scientific Committee

Filippo Arfini, Linda Arata, Dominique Barjolle, María Blanco, Zohra Bouamra-Mechemache, Liesbeth Dries, Irina Dolgopolova, Janet Dwyer, Jan Fałkowski, Jelena Filipovic, Nedka Ivanova, Laure Latruffe, Marina Nacka, Agata Malak-Rawlikowska, Sandra Notaro, Demetris Psalatopous, Meri Raggi, Jens Rommel, Eteri Kharaishvili, Klaus Salhofer, Paolo Sckokai, Davide Viaggi, Matteo Zavalloni.

Local Organising committee

Filippo Arfini, Maria Cecilia Mancini, Michele Donati, Mario Veneziani, Marianna Guareschi, Michele Maccari, Davide Menozzi, Cristina Mora, Giovanni Sogari, Rosalia Filippini, Lisa Baldi, Francesca Scazzina, Daniele Del Rio, Beatrice Biasini, Sonia Rizzoli.